Denmark: Melodi Grand Prix 2018 participants

Who will represent Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest 2018? The country’s national broadcaster DR has confirmed the names of the 10 finalists for this year’s Dansk Melodi Grand Prix – the country’s national final for Eurovision Song Contest 2018.

We bring you the full list of the finalists:

  1. Ditte Marie – Riot
  2. Anna Ritsmar – Starlight
  3. Rasmussen – Higher ground
  4. Sannie – Boys on girls
  5. Sandra – Angels to my battlefield
  6. Lasse Meling – Unfound
  7. CARLSEN – Standing up for love
  8. KARUI – Signals
  9. Rikke Ganer-Tolsøe – Holder fast i ingenting
  10. Albin Fredy – Music for the road

All the songs will be released on February 5th, and the 2018 Danish national final will take place on the February 10th in the Gigantium, Aalborg which  hosted the national final six times. The city was also one of the countries vying to host Eurovision in 2014, but it withdrew from the running as it did not have enough hotels to accomodate such a big event. Hosts of this year’s Dansk Melodi Grand Prix will be Annette Heick and Johannes Nymark, who were hosts in previous years.

The DMGP format also remains the same. Televoters and a jury of 5 Eurovision fans will have a 50/50 say on who makes it to the Superfinal, and then to Eurovision from there.

The most popular and best known winner of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix is Emmelie de Forest, who also won 2013 Eurovision Song Contest with the song “Only Teardrops”.

What do you think, who will be the Danish representer in this year’s contest? Can this year’s winner repeat the Emmelie’s success and bring back the Eurovision to Denmark? Write your thoughts and wishes.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *