Denmark: Rasmussen wins Dansk Melody Grand Prix 2018!

Dansk Melody Grand Prix, the country’s national selection for 2018 Eurovision Song Contest  is over.  Rasmussen with the song “Higher Ground” has won the most points and will represent the country in the popular competition in Lisbon. The winner was determined by the combination of votes from the public and the jury panel.

Dansk Melody Grand Prix 2018 was held on 10 February at the Gigantium in Aalborg, hosted by Annette Heick and Johannes Nymark. The “star of the night” was a 2014 Eurovision winner, Conchita Wurst, who marked her return to Denmark by performing Eurovision winning song, “Rise Like a Phoenix”.

Ten finalists competed in the national final, in two rounds of voting. The ten competing entries were:

  • Ditte Marie – “Riot”
  • Anna Ritsmar – “Starlight”
  • Rasmussen – “Higher Ground”
  • Sannie – “Boys on Girls”
  • Sandra – “Angels to My Battlefield”
  • Lasse Meling – “Unfound”
  • CARLSEN – “Standing Up for Love”
  • KARUI – “Signals”
  • Rikke Ganer-Tolsøe – “Holder fast i ingenting”
  • Albin Fredy – “Music for the Road”

The three super-finalists were Albin Fredy, Anna Ritsmar and Rasmussen who won 50% of the votes.

The winner song “Higher Ground” is a pop-folk song written and composed by Niclas Arn and Karl Eurén. The lyrics speaks against the use of violence and appeals for peaceful coexistence.

Jonas Flodager Rasmussen – or Rasmussen – is 32 years old, raised in Viborg and currently lives in Langå. Rasmussen teaches at the Performing Arts School at Viborg Cultural School.

“Higher Ground” is reportedly inspired by the legend of Magnus Erlendsson – a late Viking age chieftain.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *